Midterm election summary

Tech Policy Listening Session – Nov. 21 in Fargo
November 16, 2018
Legislative interim wrap up
November 16, 2018
Show all

Midterm election summary

A record number of North Dakotans casted their votes on Nov. 6. Below is a summary of the statewide and legislative elections, as well as initiated measures.

Statewide elections – The GOP dominated the statewide elections with incumbents Doug Goehring (Agricultural Commissioner), Randy Christmann and Brian Kroshus (Public Service Commissioners), Ryan Rauschenburger (Tax Commissioner) and Al Jaeger (Secretary of State) all reelected for another term.

Legislative elections – There was little change to the GOP’s super majority as the House went from 81-13 to 79-15 and the Senate went from 38-9 to 37-10. The state House of Representatives will see a shift in leadership with Rep. Chet Pollert selected as the new House Majority Leader. Sen. Rich Wardner will remain Senate Majority Leader.

Initiated measure – An Ethics Commission will be formed as part of an initiated constitutional measure that passed on the 2018 ballot. The commission will be made up of five members appointed by the Governor, the Majority Leader of the Senate and the Minority Leader of the Senate.

Federal elections – On a national level, the incumbent U.S. Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D) was defeated by Congressman Kevin Cramer (R). State Senator Kelly Armstrong (R) was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, which will send an all Republican group to Congress for the first time in many years.

For complete results, visit the Secretary of State’s website.

Comments are closed.